twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Time Bandits January 27, 2016

Captain Romance's Iain sweater kept me busier than heck the last few weeks before Christmas.

Captain Romance’s Iain sweater kept me busier than heck the last few weeks before Christmas.

Yup. You know how it goes: you get going on a project and the next thing you know, bang–it’s time to pick up the kid, start dinner, do the dishes, and lay your head down for another day.

Been like that around here for days and weeks and months.

And it generally starts innocently at the beginning of the school year with the idea that I’ll  knit a couple of gifts for Christmas, or dye some yarn and list it in the Etsy shop, or perhaps make a whole new line of necklaces to sell or give as gifts. Sew myself a couple of tops with that cool new Double Gauze I’m seeing everywhere. And spend a week cleaning out the closets. Love doing that. Oh yes, and there’s the writing, too. Oh, the writing.

The writing is the thing that my Time Bandits love most. Once I get going, everything but the story, the laptop, and the music coming from my earbuds disappear around me. Time disappears. Literally.

I read somewhere that that means one is working “in the zone.” All I know, is when I finally surface after hours of writing, I’m drained. But drained in a good way. Like the way you feel after a good yoga class. Like I accomplished something.

I hope you have something that makes you feel that way. Now if I could only figure out a way to keep those dang Time Bandits at bay.

Here are a few of the two dozen new yarns I just added to my Etsy yarn shop

Here are a few of the two dozen new yarns I just added to my Etsy yarn shop

_MG_1371_MG_1373

 

 

Here are my new Stagger Mitts (there's also a headband)--a new pattern I wrote up to be used with my new yarns.

Here are my new Stagger Mitts (there’s also a headband)–a new pattern I wrote up to be used with my new yarns.

Here they are modeled by a darling friend of Bug.

Here they are modeled by a darling friend of Bug’s.

 

2 Responses to “Time Bandits”

  1. Meg Says:

    Looks like you persevered and triumphed over those time bandits with that beautiful Iain sweater! (And the dyed yarn AND the mitts/headband pattern). Hubs looks happy in it. Wowza, you’ve been busy! Writing and crafting definitely put me in the zone, but I’m always duking it out with the million domestic time bandits that love to take up my day. (sigh)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. pomaw Says:

    That sweater is fanstastical – Cap’n Romance is a lucky man (I’ve always said). Good for you, there is nothing better than work you love to do, and you’re doing it! “I don’t want to go out…I want to stay in…Get things done…” (late great Mr. Bowie)

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a comment