twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Oh my Garters! June 22, 2015

Filed under: knitting — kathy @ 11:08 am
Tags: , , , , ,
Magnificent Oyster shawl by WeaverKnits in  Stonehedge Fiber's Crazy mill ends.

Magnificent Oyster shawl by WeaverKnits in
Stonehedge Fiber’s Crazy mill ends. The colors are really interesting and unusual. 

Recently, I find myself at work on two different shawls, both featuring the homey-looking garter stitch. For those readers who don’t dabble in fiber and string, garter stitch is when you knit every row back and forth on a piece of flat knitting, instead of stockinette, which is alternating knitting one row and purling the next. Overall it looks rather bumpy instead of smooth.

Garter stitch is fluid, relaxing. Some say boring, and though I partially agree with that, I also find garter stitch to be a bit like meditation practice. The chattering, annoying mind that won’t be still in meditation is to me similar to the nagging thought that garter stitch is tedious. Recognize it, but keep knitting. Once I accept that this repetitive stitch is so simple it can be uninspiring, it becomes a non-issue. Simply knit on.

I knit in the continental style which means I only need to make very small movements with my hands to produce a stitch. The yarn flows easily through my fingers. Knit, knit, knit, knit, knit…it becomes soothing, not really mindless, but rather, intuitive. Peaceful. It is a good break for my mind.

Many folks claim knitting is relaxing, however I must add that, in my opinion, the only time knitting is relaxing is when the project is working out the way you want it to.

To me, garter stitch is restful, and I’ve decided that if I’m wise, I’ll be certain to have some sort of garter stitch project on hand to work out the stresses of life (BTW, also it’s proven to be a good knitting choice for social knitting that includes wine, or for foreign film watching).

Shuffle shawl by Heather Claussen--Test knitting this clever design by a new Squam buddy.

Shuffle shawl by Heather Claussen–Test knitting this clever design by a new Squam buddy.

 

4 Responses to “Oh my Garters!”

  1. Debbie Quigg Says:

    And again I say…..why didn’t we hang out more in high school??

    Like

  2. Meg Says:

    I also love mindless garter projects, especially for travel — so easy and soothing (and I can even close my eyes while I’m doing it!). If I end up traveling as much as I’d like to, I’ll also end up with a life-time supply of “Leftie” shawls — perfect garter-travel projects. Oh well, not complaining!

    Like


Leave a Reply

