twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Spinster April 15, 2015

The Kromski Sonata-it folds so I can travel with it if I want!

The Kromski Sonata-it folds so I can travel with it if I want!

Make that a happy spinster. πŸ˜‰

For years I’ve been wanting to learn how to spin. I tried a drop spindle, but it was just too annoying tedious for me (I’m rather impatient, I’m afraid) and the drop spindle went to Bug (she, BTW, totally took to it and became wonderful at it, so there was no loss there.).

A few years ago after a reasonably successful Holiday Open House, I decided to buy myself a lovely, handmade single-treadle folding spinning wheel from an artisan on Etsy who had a shop called “Overland Handcraft.” It was a lovely wheel (which I’d never sat down to treadle/try before I bought–mistake number 1), and after I received it I realized I needed some help from an expert, so I took a private 2 hour lesson with the delightful and knowledgable Sandi Luck of Purlescence Yarn, came home, and immediately welcomed houseguests for the week. That meant I didn’t spin for at least a week afterΒ my class and so forgot nearly everything I’d learned (mistake number 2). Worse, the lovely Overland folding/travel wheel I bought had a funny little glitch that made it try to fold up on itself every time I tried to use it (mistake number 3).

My lovely--but not quite right for me--Overland wheel.

My lovely–but not quite right for me–Overland wheel.

Enter Captain Romance, and after one of the best Christmas gifts ever–a gift certificate for a new wheel, six–yes, six–learn to spin classes, again with Sandi, trying 3 (or 5 if you count the ones I treadled but didn’t actually use) different wheels during those classes, and 3 or 8 gin and tonics, I now am the proud owner of this gorgeous walnut Kromski Sonata. I named him Gabriel. I am so full of gratitude.

Okay, plied it looks pretty cool, but as a single...embarrassing!

Okay, plied it looks pretty cool, but as a single…embarrassing!

For whatever reason, it took me a couple of classes to really understand what I needed to do to spin the way I was supposed to. To be fair, a bit of my trouble was due to the strokes I had when Bug was born. But I have to say that there were classmates who sat down and were at once spinning stuff that looked like kitchen twine or embroidery floss. Mine looked like crapΒ novelty yarn. I was devastated, and truthfully, embarrassed. I don’t know if there’s such a thing as a remedial spinning class, but wished I could’ve slunk away to find one. I mean the teachers were very nice about it, but it was frustrating. I’m usually great with my hands. Sigh. You know, they say that you should enjoy this early “lumpy bumpy thick thin yarn” because you’ll never be able to do after you learn the right way to spin. Ha. They didn’t know about me. I don’t think I’ll ever have trouble doing thick and think yarn again if I want to. But I digress.

Anyway, I refused to give up, and after changing the wheel I was using, and watching lots of YouTube videos for moral support, I was making kitchen twine, too! Yippity! This is so much fun that I spent nearly all day Sunday spinning, and could barely walk the next day because I’d overwhelmed my ankles. Well, they didn’t hurt while I was spinning.

It's a little hard to tell with this dark shot, but it's really pretty thin and even.

It’s a little hard to tell with this dark shot, but it’s really pretty thin and even.

Yup, you can call me spinster, now and I certainly won’t be offended. πŸ˜‰

 

Leave a Reply

