twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Write now…right now! November 5, 2014

Filed under: knitting,writing — kathy @ 11:56 am
Tags: , , , , ,
Ah, this would be my dream writing spot. Maybe someday...

Ah, this would be my dream writing spot. Maybe someday…

Hello dear friends!

Just the other day I had a nagging feeling I’d forgotten something…low and behold, I realized I hadn’t written a post here in nearly 2 months. For shame! I can only blame it on the fact that I’ve been busy writing other things, namely researching and writing a short story to submit for an upcoming fantasy anthology, and editing my novel, Lore. What wonderfully all-consuming projects. Whenever I write, no matter if I find myself blocked and agonizing over plot, or if I’m flying through the story with it flowing easily from my mind to my fingers, I find hours fly past. It is truly my deepest devotion, writing. To that end, I think I should focus more on writing here, as well.

 

Then there is knitting…T_MaryFrancesCover

I’ve been making good progress on my Clown Barf shoulder wrap, poncho-thingy. Just a few more “tiers” to go. And thank goodness; we’ve been waking to 40 degree temps–finally! Sweater weather at last. Though we have still had more than a typical number of over 80 degree days in the last month or so. Hmphf. I wish I could like hot weather. I just cannot take it. Even when I was a kid I wasn’t happy with heat and sweating. Ah well.

On the upside, though, it is easier to get yarn to dry when it’s warm outside, so I might just have to schedule some dyeing…;)

I’d really like to get underway with a couple of cardigans, and maybe even a last minute Christmas giftie. What’s Christmas without a frenzied race to finish a handmade gift, right?

And then there’s that Holiday Boutique I signed up to do. Many of you know I make jewelry, but I don’t know if you’ve heard I make rosaries and rosary bracelets, too. So the first weekend of December (in fact, about a month from now) I’ll be at our local church selling those items, as well as a few regular jewelry items, since I won’t be having a Christmas Trunk Show this year. I’ll be posting the address soon, in case any of you local readers might want to attend. I’d love to see you!

And instead of the Christmas Show, I’m planning on having a Valentine’s Day Trunk Show. Kind of a “buy something for your sweetie to give you Show”, or “give yourself some love this Valentine’s Day Show.”

Well, better skeedaddle…got lots going on!

What sorts of things are keeping you busy right now? Tell me–I’d love to know!

 

2 Responses to “Write now…right now!”

  1. Debbie Q Says:

    I always think life is going to slow down…and then it doesn’t. There is office work, and then there is photography work, and then there is wedding coordinator work, and then there is housework….and then there is knitting. Finishing the 30 knitted Santa ornaments for the Ornament Exchange gift, and trying to get a cardigan done because, you know, winter has arrived here, and I am itching to cast on some lace, and I need to knit something for my mother. Do you have any hours that you can spare?

    Like

  2. kathy Says:

    Oh Deb, that is so true! I am amazed that you have office work in there too,now–but then you have a great boss! 😉
    I don’t have a spare second either, though I’d send it to you if I could. Truth be told, I really like being busy, I guess. Sometimes I long to be one of those women on Ravelry who knit an entire cardigan in five days (heck, one woman knit that Darling Emma cardigan in two weeks; it will likely be more like two years for me to finish.). I really am trying to figure out ways to slow done though. I will let you know if I have any breakthroughs.

    Like


Leave a Reply

