twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Writer’s Block May 8, 2014

I always thought I wanted a "lap cat." Not so sure any more...

I always thought I wanted a “lap cat.” Not so sure any more…

I’m so excited! I’ve just finished an extraordinary online writing course called “The Magic of Myth” given by Elizabeth Duvivier founder of Squam Art Workshops. The course began with a three week analysis of the myth of Psyche and Eros, which is considered to be the genesis of all modern(ish) faery tales such as Cinderella, Beauty and the Beast, and the like. The second three weeks consisted of writing our own, original myth or faery tale, using different archetypes to craft the piece.

Wow. It was just what I needed to get my writer’s juices flowing again.

Over the past few years, I’ve been trying (and by that I mean, putting it on my calendar, but mostly ignoring it) to take a month to finish the last 2 chapters of my book, “Lore.” Ha. What’s been happening is that generally I try to get myself warmed up and in the flow by starting at the beginning of the novel, and editing the piece (all 562 pages so far) to where I last stopped, and try to finish from there. I think this is a mistake, however, I do it anyway.

One of the things I learned in Elizabeth’s class was that what I actually need to do to get the old brain box in gear is to move around, sing a little, dance a little in my private space here before I sit down to tackle the rest of that behemoth. And once I do, it’s amazing how when I start writing, time disappears. I know that even more than knitting, writing is my truest calling, because of that shift in time for me, that unconscious, effortless flow of heart to head to page…

That is, unless I have help. From someone fluffy, of course. He’s my personal “writer’s block.” Believe me, there’s no place for a laptop if he’s already on your lap.

Quick, he's in the chair, now! Write, write!

Quick, he’s in the chair, now! Write, write!

Anyway, even though it was part of the “class,” I was inspired to write  a really honest short story/faery tale that I feel like Elizabeth really found pleasing; and I was so happy with the piece, in fact, that I think I’m going to work on it a little more and submit it somewhere. You’d be surprised how many fairy tale pubs there are nowadays.

Darling Emma is so lovely!

Darling Emma is so lovely!

Sadly though, with a focus on writing, my knitting time has been pushed to after dinner. I’m slowly making progress with my “Darling Emma,” just doing a half dozen rows or so a night before I feel like I’m gonna pass out. It’s about 30% done now. Having to rip and restart 5 inches into the thing didn’t help, either. Oh well.

After this, I have a couple pairs of socks to finish, and then…I just don’t know. But I’ve got a feeling that the knitting might slow down even a little more, or shift entirely to sock mode since the weather gurus are predicting 5 days in a row of 90+ degree temps next week, and we have no AC. Sigh. What happened to spring?

Well, off to write some more on “Lore.” I see the light, it’s a pinpoint, but it’s there at the end of that tunnel.

 

The class inspired this new  Absinthe Yarn colorway called "Psyche and Eros!"

The class inspired this new Absinthe Yarn colorway called “Psyche and Eros!”

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Writer’s Block”

  1. Meg Says:

    Oh boy oh boy oh boy, I can’t wait to read your fairy tale! Pretty please may I see it someday soonsoonsoon?

    That is one happy kitty cat. 🙂

    Like

    • Meg Says:

      Oh, and of course … waiting any day now for a version of “Lore” to arrive in my virtual mailbox so I can read that, too.

      Like


Leave a Reply

