twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

The Smile Experiment April 29, 2014

Filed under: laughter,life — kathy @ 1:09 pm
Tags: ,
Smile!

Smile!

One day last week, I set myself a little task: to look everyone I passed in the eye and smile at them, just to see the reaction. And that particular day was perfect because I had beaucoup errands to run, everyplace from the wee Post Office in the local Hallmark store, to the Salvation Army drop-off, Walgreens…you name it. I was busy. I passed a large sampling of people.

You know what? With the exception of  a couple grouchies who likely thought I was a loopy imbecile, everyone smiled back. And then it seemed that they smiled at the next person they passed (when I was in a position to be able to see them passing someone else, that is.).

It was a delightful experiment; I think I’ll keep it up.

BTW, You may have noticed I had a password protected post yesterday. It was a short story for a writing class I was taking, and am not ready to launch into the world yet. At any rate, no more passwords for now. Thanks! 🙂

 

2 Responses to “The Smile Experiment”

  1. Hope Rays Says:

    what a great way to spread cheer!

    Like

  2. Meg Says:

    What a nice experiment! Putting your sweet smilies out into the world so everyone else could pay them forward. “Be the change that you wish to see in the world” said Ghandi. And “Don’t let the grouchies get you down.” (Anonymous) I’m going to take page from both your books! 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

