twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Ah, Progress! July 21, 2013

Hello, dear friends!

I am so happy to say I’ve been chugging along, finishing projects, while starting and finishing a few others. What a great feeling of accomplishment. Oh yes…I am happy of myself.

Here’s just a little of what I’ve been working on finishing recently…

The Punkinhead Thief (The Orchid Thief) Shawl. Finally. Finished. After all the drama, I honestly don’t know if I’d do another. Even so I love it; I can’t wait for it to get chilly here. The HandMaiden Swiss Cashmere and Silk is to.die.for. OMG.

I wish this was a better shot...it turned out so pretty.

I wish this was a better shot…it turned out so pretty.

 

Bug’s Apocalyptic Drop-stitch Sweater…I have to say I’m pretty proud of this one.

She's gonna fight the bad guys in this one!

She’s gonna fight the bad guys in this one!

Its genesis was a super cool sweater on Etsy that Bug found and fell in love with last sumer, and that I was just not going pay over $150 to buy. Come on. Looking at it I could see it was super simple. I just did some math and  figured it out. Then I shopped from the old stash-ola. TaDa!

Oh how I adore this pattern!

Oh how I adore this pattern!

 

My 2nd Cladonia Shawl for the Through The Loops Summer Shawl KAL (Knit-a-long).

Love this pattern. LOVE IT. It’s fairly mindless, and ends up with some totally kick dupa lace. Start to finish: 5 days of working (caveat: the knitted picot bind-off took a whole day to do, but was totally worth it; yes, I know some do crocheted picot bind offs, but I really like the big loops you get from the knitted version.

I used 2 of my favorite Madelinetosh colors: Cousteau and Filigree

I used 2 of my favorite Madelinetosh colors: Cousteau and Filigree

...it's a secret. (Sorry for the crappy iphone pic!)

…it’s a secret.
(Sorry for the crappy iphone pic!)

A super secret design entry…here’s a peek at the work in progress, but I’ll have to fill you in on the details a little later when it’s finally finished…I’m still playing around with a few details.

There’s a 2nd design entry on the needles, but I don’t know if I’ll get it finished in time. More on both of those projects later.

Oh yes, and lookie here:

I won, I won!

I won, I won!

I won some YARN! Yep, I won some yarn from one of my favorite online yarn shops, Eat.Sleep.Knit in Smyrna, GA.

Hey, didya know that if you move the “a” in “Smyrna,” you get “Sm-yarn” LOL 😉

Well, I’d better keep moving. I feel like I’m on a roll here, for a change.

 

 

4 Responses to “Ah, Progress!”

  1. monica Says:

    Your shawls are beautiful! And great job on Bug’s sweater! I can’t wait to see your design.

    Like

  2. Harping Hawke Says:

    Love the sweater!
    …you need to post a picture of cowl version 2.0!! 🙂

    Like

  3. Meggie Says:

    Oh my, I had the privilege of examining those beautiful shawls and the cowl up close and they are GORgeous! You are so correct about the HandMaiden Swiss Cashmere and Silk being to.die.for. I can’t believe how silky soft and pretty that yarn is (and of course, I worship that color …) And the sweater is absolute genius (and looks fabtastic on the beautiful AND supersmart Buglet). You’re brill, lady! Any word on the cowl entry?

    Like


Leave a Reply

