twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Stitches is coming, Stitches is coming! February 22, 2012

Filed under: knitting — kathy @ 2:59 pm
Tags: ,

Yes, indeed! The annual tornado of fiber that sends stash diet resolutions flying out the window, and lays ruin to credit card balances, has nearly arrived.

But I shall batten down the hatches and resist. Or at least do a dang good job trying not to add to my stash!

Like last year, I’ll keep acquisitions to a minimum, with a focus on a unique roving or sock yarn. Because now, when I look at a sock yarn, I have to say to myself: “Self, put the skein down and walk away. You can dye that yourself.”

Here's my stash of my hand dyed goodies...the sheen in most of these yarns is silk...yum.

Instead, I’ll enjoy the excitement of the single class I’m taking, How to Design a Triangular Lace Shawl—something I’ve been futzing with for ages, but just can’t seem to figure out. I understand how to “build” a shawl, but I’ll be darned if I can figure out where to start building the lace repeats. I might find that halfway through the class I’ll stop and say, “Duh, why didn’t I get that before?” On the other hand, I’m betting I’ll have more of an “aha,” moment.

At any rate, the whole point of doing this class is so that I’ll be able to put some of the shawls I have fluttering around my head on paper and offer them on my Absinthe Yarn Etsy site. (No, still not up yet. camera issues, but working on it.)

But best of all, this year, darlingest Darling Cuz will be navigating the aisles of the show with me, increasing the sheer FUN of the event a trillion-fold ( number which we all now know is hard to fathom, but represents “alot”). We’ll walk the show, knit, cook, hang out on the coast (the weather should be glorious this weekend—65 to 70 degrees and sunny!)

I've been working on my "Coat of many colors," a great pattern to hang with someone and knit---very little concentration required.

Lulu's at the watch

Bug, CR, and I are barely waiting for her arrival. Even Lucy has taken up her post atop the wall in the front hall, waiting to say “Meow.” Which means, “Welcome; let me make you sneeze.”

 

5 Responses to “Stitches is coming, Stitches is coming!”

  1. DebbieQ Says:

    Extreme Stitches envy rears it’s ugly head.

    Like

  2. Darling Cuz Says:

    Can’t wait to see you guys! Also to blow this pop stand for a few days of R & R & K & K. Always my favorite vacation with the most gracious and lovely trio of hosts! Pity my poor family, who dress in rags and eat tuna sandwiches night after night while I travel 1000s of miles to buy expensive skeins of yarn while ogling knit world celebrities. If they’re nice to me when I get home, they may get a pair of socks out of it. Countdown starts, Claritin at the ready!

    Like

  3. Meg Says:

    Oh how I wish I could join you! Not that my stash needs boosting, but I wouldn’t mind petting those lovely skeins of silky yarn you are showing off. Have a lovely time, ladies!

    Like


Leave a Reply

