twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Designing Woman February 8, 2012

Filed under: knitting — kathy @ 11:55 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Last post I hinted at a design for a pair of cabled mitts I was working on using a skein of my own Absinthe Yarn hand-dyed superwash merino yarn. Since then, I’ve completed the first (mostly) to my satisfaction. On the front: heart-shaped cables run up the center of the mitt. 

Cat not included…;)

 

Now comes the hard part…knitting the second one according to my notes. If that works out, I’ll be writing and charting out the pattern to make it available to all you knitting buddies out there. In fact, I might even ask for a couple of test knitters… 😉

Here’s a look at the back: Rosebud cables on each side of center cable and on the palm:

 

4 Responses to “Designing Woman”

  1. Meg Says:

    Holy Hearts and Rosebuds, Batman … those are fantastic!

    Please count me as one of your test knitters — I have several skeins of sock yarn just itchin’ to be turned into a pair of those pretties. Congratulations, Ms. Knitwear Designer. 🙂

    Like

    • kathy Says:

      Thanks for your encouragement, sweetie! If all goes well, I’ll take you up on that! At present, I’m goofing around with trying to chart the two patterns on the computer. That may stump me more than the designing!
      xxxooo

      Like

  2. monica Says:

    Those are beautiful! I’d be happy to test knit also if you still need them. There’s also a group on Ravelry for people who want to test knit.

    Like

    • kathy Says:

      Thanks, Monica! I’ll definitely take you up on that! I’m goofing around with free knitting symbols to make the charts, but I’m not completely happy with what I have to work with, and am not in the position to spend $189 on software that’s far superior. When I work it out, I’ll let you know. 🙂

      Like


Leave a Reply

