twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

I’m spoiled… January 13, 2012

This was the first loaf I made. Since then, the bread I make looks lots better, and still tastes as great!

Yes, indeed, I am a spoiled girl…

Ever since I discovered the “No Knead Whole Wheat Bread” on the King Arthur Flour website, I’ve hardly bought bread from Safeway. Seriously.

Perfect with a pot of homemade soup

This bread is so fast, and so good, that it only takes about an hour of my time total, including setup and cleanup.

And the results.

My oh my.

The bread is tasty, moist, and probably better for us because all the ingredients are fresh. And, making it saves a heap of $$.

So, emboldened by this baking success, (remember, as a rule, I am not great at baking…) I tried yet another no knead recipe, “No Knead Oat Bread.”

This one is a little more time-consuming, and the actual baking a little more complicated, but the results are amazingly good.

You simply put all the ingredients into the bowl of your stand mixer and mix away. Then you let it rise 8 hours or overnight.

Yes, 8 hours.

You probably have all the ingredients on hand.

I once actually raised it about 7 or so hours when I realized I didn’t have time before bed to rise it in the baking dish for an hour and bake it another hour. Poor planning on my part. So I popped in the fridge overnight. It took a little while for the dough to warm up enough to begin to rise again, but once it did, it was just fine.

The recipe says to use high gluten flour, and while I’m sure it’s best to follow the recipe, I must say I only use bread flour and it turns out delish each time. Instead of a cast iron dutch oven, I use my big white Corningware casserole and bake the loaf at a lower temperature, since most of the comments mention the problems with the crust getting too dark.

And the loaf turns out perfect…and huge.

Because it’s a sweetish bread, I usually add a tablespoon of cinnamon to the dough, and before I put it into the casserole, I flatten it out, sprinkle on more cinnamon, as well as raisins and walnuts, then roll it up.

Why don't any of the breads I photograph ever look as good as they taste?

And if there’s any left after a few days, it makes super-de-duper french toast, too.

Ah yes, now you know why I’m spoiled.

It’s all part of my plan to try to learn to make more of our foods from scratch. In these days of inflation and processed food everywhere I look, I believe my family will benefit.

Something in me is wanting to get back to basics lately. Not sure why, but I’m gonna try to go with it for now. Wanna join me?

I can’t wait to show you what I’m up to next!

 

4 Responses to “I’m spoiled…”

  1. DebbieQ Says:

    Excellent! Once you are spoiled by homemade bread you can never go back to the commercial stuff. I know what I am talking about!!

    Like

  2. Darling Cuz Says:

    Love this idea to consume (and produce) more whole foods to eat. I’m with you — and that bread looks great!

    Like

  3. Meg Says:

    Yummalicious, I LOVE me some oat bread! The problem is, it frequently turns out a bit flat, but yours looks mighty nice. And you said it: HUGE. I’m not sure I could get used to not kneading (you know how I feel about kneading bread) but it is tempting, indeed, to try this one. So, are you going to show us a slice of that oat bread, all toasty and slathered with butter?

    Like

  4. I have been trying to make bread in my dutch oven this weekend — both experiments have failed, but I wont give up!

    Like


Leave a Reply

