twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Almost Paradise July 22, 2011

In dappled sunlight under a canopy of Japanese maple

So, after many grueling days of shopping for fabric (this might’ve been the worst of it, actually—I do not love JoAnn’s; at least they had a 40% off sale) measuring, cutting, pinning, basting, and finally, constructing (not to mention much blood spilled over pin pricks), the ancient outdoor furniture cushions are all freshened up. I went through 14 yards of fabric, 4 upholstery zippers, 2 big spools of thread, 15 packages of piping (cleaned out every JoAnn’s in the area), not to mention at least 27 hours of On Demand movies, as well as seasons 1 and 2 of Anne of Green Gables.

But I was not alone in rehabilitating the old furniture. Captain Romance and Bug spent a whole bunch of calories washing and waxing the old bamboo while I sewed, so everything looks oodles and oodles better.

Did you notice? Everything is in gin and tonic colors. πŸ™‚ Makes me wanna barbecue and hang out in the back yard, even though we still have a whole bunch of “outside the house” projects to do. A Whole Bunch. Sigh.

But even though having the sewing machine out has messed up the house considerably, it also has gotten me excited about sewing a few other things. In fact, I believe on my “to do this year” list, I had lined up a couple of totes I wanted to sew. And that’s what I’ll be up to today, even though I should be 1) Making Jewelry, 2) Cleaning The House, 3) Getting Me and the Bug Ready for Our Annual Trip to Chicago!

Someone looks comfy...

Well, at least CR will have a nice place to entertain his buddies while we’re gone. Wouldn’t want him to get lonely!

 

 

7 Responses to “Almost Paradise”

  1. alhost Says:

    Looks inviting and beautiful.

    Like

  2. Meg Says:

    BeeeYOOtiful! The covers and pillows are perfect! So pretty, fresh and summery and very cozy. I must be missing something with the “gin and tonic colors?” While I’m certainly wishing I was sipping something cool with you out on your lovely bamboo furniture, let’s get to the really important stuff: WHEN are you visiting? πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Diane Lowry Says:

    Kathy, you did a WONDERFUL job! Your back yard looks very relaxing.

    Like

  4. Meg Says:

    By the way, I fully support the watching of “Anne of Green Gables” during protracted sewing projects! Anne-girl has helped me through many a stitch session. Whenever I have Ren Faire garb to sew, I almost always pop in “Elizabeth” or “Shakespeare in Love.”

    Like


Leave a Reply

