twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

I only wanted to spare you July 10, 2010

Oh, what a crank I’ve been of late. Super-cranky. Cranky from coughing so hard that at any moment I expect to see my tonsils fly out of my throat onto my knitting. Cranky because the official word from the 6 or 7 different doctors (and these are just the ones I’ve seen, forget CR’s and Bug’s physician experiences) I’ve seen is that there’s nothing wrong with me. I just have a cough.

Tell that to the other 2 sick bodies walking around here. Though I must say that the Bug is sounding much better, so there must be some hope. On the other hand, CR is not.

This cough to me is like Delilah with a pair of Fiskars is to Samson.

Anyway, I haven’t posted anything in a couple of week because I wanted to spare you from my morose and self-absorbed, crabby and whiney thoughts.

And let me say “thanks so much” to all of you and your kind thoughts and prayers over the past few weeks. At least you all may have helped my sense of taste and smell return. Those are 2 senses I will never again take for granted, believe you me.

But I’m still cranky.

On the bright side, I discovered a really great thing to drink to fight the dehydration that comes from this crud we have. Coconut juice (or water).

...they put the lime in the coconut...

It’s the stuff that sloshes around inside green coconuts, and evidently, is an awesome source of potassium and electrolytes. Surely some of you already know about coconut juice. All I know is that I really feel alot better after I quaff a can of it. This brand definitely tastes best to me; here are 2 flavors. The yellow can has lime in it. Yes indeed, they put the lime in the coconut…(CR spent most of the day singing that after I brought this one home. Sheesh.) Who knew that that was actually effective in battling dehydration?

Also, I have been knitting…this is a good thing. I hate not being productive each day in some way. Hate it. I mean, life is whizzing past me as it is, and I need to seriously make a dentola in my stashola. Seriously. Besides, after cleaning my closet out so thoroughly pre-carpet replacement, I need new sweaters. I have, like 5 or 6 sweaters, most not made by me. This is not good form in the household of  a lunatic knitter who has scads of raw material on hand. Especially since the upcoming Midwest Fiber and Folk Art Show is just days away and I will be there with a few of my BFFs! I understand Franklin Habit, author of the delightful satirical knitting book, “It Itches: A Stash of Knitting Cartoons,” will be teaching a few classes there. I will be stalking him, I mean, keeping on the lookout for him in hopes of getting him autograph his little book for me. Wish I had time to take one of his workshops…

http://www.fiberandfolk.com

Yippity do da!

So after a slowish start on my Jordan tunic (which included some issues with a couple of lying gauge swatches), I jumped in and let me tell you, this is potentially a quick knit!

I suppose if I had nothing to do every day besides knit, I could get this completed–start to finish–in a week. But life as it is, I’ll have to settle for about 3 weeks. However, I’m doing something a little tricky, for me anyway…going up a size or two with the needles because I’m really in between pattern sizes–negative ease or not. I may have gone too far, but blocking the body, which is just a few rows from being finished, well tell me if I’ll be taking a trip to the frog pond or not.

Love this pattern.

All of Wendy Bernard’s patterns are smart and really cute. Something like this in some other designers’s hands could potentially have been pretty frumpy. On the other hand, I need to try it on. May look frumpy on me! LOL

Oh yes–I hope you all had a wonderful 4th! Here’s what CR did for us:

Probably one of the best batches of baby back ribs he’s ever done…he rubs them with his own rib rub concoction and then smokes them over a low flame, Memphis style, for at least 6 or 7 hours. Yumbo. Lucky us. I can’t tell you how happy I was to have regained my senses (senses of taste and smell, that is–haha) so I could enjoy them! Oh yes, he made a brisket, too, but that was still on the fire when I took these shots. BTW, the best barbecue sauce out there, bar none, is Trader Joe’s Kansas City Style. Nice and spicy and smoky and not too sweet. Just saying.

So, as you might have gathered, the Bug and I will be winging our way to the great land of Chicago in just a couple of days. Poor CR will have to stay home and work, but toward the end of our trip, he’ll be coming out for a trip to the MN Boundary waters to camp with his BFFs, and then, we all will be taking a special surprise trip (It’ll be a surprise, remember? More at a later date…). Good thing my house sitter’s got a big chunk of spare time.

Well, as usual, my big dilemma is what to bring to knit. Figured out most of it already and have sent it ahead, but the fact that this top I’m working on is going so fast, I worry about finishing it on the plane. I don’t worry about what I’ll be doing when I get there, however, because something will be sure to come home with me from the Fiber Fest, although I will be extremely careful about buying there. I really shouldn’t buy anything, but let’s be honest…I know I’ll get something. However it will be nothing in quantity. Instead, I think I’ll splurge on a skein of laceweight qiviut and make myself this:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/pretty-thing

If I were young and cool, I’d make myself something like this:

http://www.ravelry.com/projects/highstrung/opera-length-arm-warmers

Alas, I may be cool, but I am no longer young, so I shall leave this to those who still have some growing up to do. 😉

Well dear friends, once again, thank you for all your kind wishes of wellness. I am off to finish packing for my trip home! See some of y’all real soon!

 

6 Responses to “I only wanted to spare you”

  1. DebbieQ Says:

    Oh those gauge swatches! They lie, they lie. So I try to avoid them whenever possible. Glad to know you are feeling better…sort of. Or at least your senses are feeling better.

    Like

  2. redfear Says:

    DebbieQ is right, gauge swatches are evil little creatures anxious to lead us into knitting errors. Hope you’re getting better.

    Like

  3. Darling Cuz Says:

    The Jordan looks fabulous, the ribs look delicious, and I’ll refrain from repeating the lyrics to the song, but it DOES say, drink them both together, then you’ll feel better. Hurray! Can’t wait to see you!

    Like

  4. Meg Smith Says:

    I don’t do gauge swatches, end of story. But I DO love reading your ketchup posts, and this one is a goodie! Between the ribs (DROOL) and the coconut juice (add a little rum, perhaps?), and the fact that you are still on track to visit (YAY!!) and I’m taking off Friday to go to the Fiber Fest with you and other fine ladies ($$$) this has been a good visit with you, but not as good as the real thing. BTW, I agree about the arm wamers — I don’t see those slouchy ol’ things on your slender arms. But Pretty Thing … well, if the cowl fits, that will be a Pretty Thing on you indeed.

    I think you should start knitting a Goddess on the plane! 🙂 Happy travels!

    Like


Leave a Reply

