twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Tasteless. June 28, 2010

Filed under: life — kathy @ 8:32 am
Tags:

So, here’s something in the realm of “I never thought this would happen to me.”

I have completely lost my sense of smell, and therefore also, taste.

It’s so unreal that it seems freakish. I keep tasting and smelling things, thinking that surely I’ll find something that I can taste, but no.

Can I tell you how unbelievably frustrating it is that I gave in to a potato chip craving yesterday, and found I was unable to satisfy that craving? I could not taste one damn chip.

After doing a bit of investigating online, I think I can trace this horrible side effect to what I was hoping would be a miracle drug: Levaquin. You know, after years and years in the pharmaceutical business, I am well aware that drugs have their side effects and such. but this one has gotten me two doosies: This loss of taste, and depression. And I thought I was just bummed about not being able to get rid of this cough. Ah well. No more Levaquin for me.

Seriously, I hope this loss of taste thing isn’t permanent. As I write this, I am sipping a nice strong cup of coffee that tastes like hot water. I made the most scrumptious blueberry pound cake last night which I couldn’t smell at all. Even a kalamata olive had no flavor.

Oh woe is me. Seriously. I have always appreciated my sense of smell. It helped me figure out how to duplicate things from restaurants that we loved. I adore the scent of the Bug’s curls, of fresh skeins of wool, the smell of chlorine on a bathing suit, my English roses. I pray this is temporary, but what if it isn’t?

And after all of this, I still have this insane cough, although at least it’s not whooping cough (yes, we all thought it was that for a while–the culture was normal) or pneumonia. But these coughing fits turn you inside out. Literally.

I mean, I wanted to lose weight, but this is ridiculous.

Well, if you can’t taste the food, why bother eating, right?

Sorry for the rant. I just feel so helpless that I don’t know what to do any more.

 

9 Responses to “Tasteless.”

  1. Cyndy Linebarger Says:

    Oh Kathy, I am so sorry to hear about your cough sickness and the unnerving side effects of your medicine! I will be praying for you and your quick comeback from all this…I know what it means to be turned inside out from coughing & sometimes get the same way just from allergies, but never the side effects you are experiencing. Just hang in there, and I will be sending my strongest thoughts and prayers for relief for you!

    XO
    Cyndy

    Like

  2. Meg Smith Says:

    You poor dearie! That is incredibly frustrating, but I can’t imagine it’s permanent. Try not to worry about that, because that will make you even more frustrated. Could it be interacting with some other drug? I’m sure you’ve got that covered, but just in case — lots of good info online about potential interactions with levaquin, such as http://www.drugs.com/levaquin.html

    You need to get healthy again, girlie! I’m sending some healing vibes your way. Also, make sure you are taking care of your soul in some way. And if you’re not sick of chicken soup, well when I can’t taste anything that’s the one thing I rely on until everything is back to normal. Hang in there, girlie!

    Like

  3. Darling Cuz Says:

    sorry to hear this latest development sweetie. I’m sure it’s temporary and thank god you have not got a fatal Victorian disease! You just need to get well and you will but it may take a little time — coughs are like that. Talk to you soon. Love.

    Like

  4. kathy Says:

    Thanks for your kind words, honey!

    Like

  5. Meg Says:

    I wonder if some chicken soup with bourbon might wake up those stubborn tastebuds of yours? If you want the recipe, I’ll send it along! Poor girlie. (By the way, I SWEAR I left a lengthy comment earlier today but poof! it looks like it just up and disappeared). Get yourself some rest, girlie! I’m sending healing vibes and hugs to you.

    Like

    • kathy Says:

      You just know I can use all the healing vibes possible, Darlin’!
      And I would LOVE your recipe–sounds perfect! We’ve been living on soup since now poor CR has got this crud, too!

      Like

  6. DebbieQ Says:

    Oh my word! Hope and pray that this resolves itself and down right quickly.

    Like

    • kathy Says:

      Thanks, honey! Believe me, after eyeing your yummy Chocolate-dipped Key Lime Bars, I’m really desperate for my taste buds to work!

      Like


Leave a Reply

