twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

No turkeys allowed here. June 23, 2010

Nope. Not gonna ’em get me down. Even though I’ve had a crappy sinus infection for the last three weeks that’s scoffed at the antibiotics (even the second round punch of Levaquin, which is about as strong as you can get before they have to admit you to the hospital and deliver stuff in an iv–sheesh), and exacerbated my asthma to the point of needing prednisone (evil stuff). I’m here to say I’m keeping those turkeys far away, ’cause I’ve got life to live, stuff to do, and things to knit.

Seriously. I really haven’t been myself lately.

It all started with the cold my darling Bug brought home from that petrie dish of a school of hers. This was about the time of the carpet redo. She missed nearly the entire last 2 weeks of school, as this cold headed straight for her sinuses and then took a turn into her lungs. She was up all night for days, me with her, using the nebulizer and all other sorts of OTC cough preps, as well as good old honey. Nothing worked, and needless to say, no one got any rest.

And then it was my turn.  Poor CR had to retreat to the guest room to get even a little bit of peace so he could sleep.

Thankfully the Bug seems nearly well, now. I’m just starting to feel a little better, thanks to the Levaquin and Nyquil cocktail I’ve been treating myself to every night for the last few days.

What I hate most about being sick is how much of my life I feel like I’m wasting. I miss my friends. The house goes to hell. I lose my ability to cook. Bug and I don’t get to do fun stuff, like go to the park, or swim. And forget enjoying a gin and tonic or two.

We did try to do some fun family things, such as take a little trip to the ocean. The air was cold and fresh and it felt good. Bug got to run around in the icy water with CR.

Chasing waves is fun!

Oh dear, a new obsession.

Bug and I went to Purlescence, our LYS, and we took a yarn-dying class together.  Mmm. Loved it!

A little side note, Molly Ringwald popped into the shop for some stash enhancement while we were there, however, we were out on the loading dock with our hands in wet yarn. This was especially funny to me because about ten years ago I was shopping in NYC at the amazing decorating store, ABC Carpet and Home, when Molly Ringwald comes around a table stacked with alarm clocks and vases, stops a couple of feet in front of me, smiles, and says “Hi” like she knew me (my mother said maybe she thought I was Demi Moore–I wish). Friendly person that I am, I said “Hi,” back. And then, realizing she didn’t know me, turned heel and disappeared behind a display of satin throw pillows, while I stood there doing my best impersonation of a deer in the headlights.

And that was like, one of my only famous person encounters. At least an up-close one. So, how strange that she’d be where I was again. On the other side of the country, no less. Of course I didn’t see her this time. I wonder if she would’ve remembered me.

Being sick has given me a bit more time (or an excuse, anyway) to knit. I’ve finally been working on my “Something Rum Raisin. Sleeves are done. Doing the button band today, and then she’s cooked. Did I say I hate button bands?

And I must say that I’m finishing this cardigan, not only because I need it, and because I started it a year ago (!), but also so that I can justify starting this new Wendy Bernard Pattern: Jordan. This top is exactly the dressy-casual, tunic-lengthy top I’ve been looking for; something that looks like I put some thought into my outfit, but it’ll be comfy made in luscious Euroflax linen. Gawd, I wish I could knit faster.

Next up, a Destroyed Cowl or 2.

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/destroyed-cowl

I have the perfect Malabrigo for it, however I think I’ll start the first one in the Blue Moon Fibers LSS I scored at Stitches West last February. That was Darling Cuz’s idea! Thanks!! She’s gonna do one, too. And be finished long before I start mine, I’ll bet. 🙂

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/destroyed-cowl

My two pairs of 2-at-a-time socks for the 2 guys in my life are just taking f-o-r-e-v-e-r. They are perfect for perfectly mindless knitting. I will keep to them. Just remind me how long it takes to knit socks for a guy next time I think I can whip up a quick gift. Soul eating.

Well, I’m not going to think about those right now…

I pushed myself to make curtains for the Bug’s room. Now she can sleep late. Egads, is she becoming a teen? Now I have to work on some shades for some peculiar windows that face our bed. More on that another day.

So, very little bit, by very little bit, I’m coming back, but I really need to get up my strength so that I’m ready for the Midwest Fiber and Folk Art Fair in a few weeks. Big plans.

http://www.fiberandfolk.com/

Will I get to see you there?

 

3 Responses to “No turkeys allowed here.”

  1. DebbieQ Says:

    Purlescense is your LYS?? Like in the Knitmore Girls Purlescense? Excuse me while I am extremely jealous if it is. And the destroyed cowl is very cool looking.

    Like

  2. Meg Smith Says:

    Good heavens lady! I didn’t know you were so sick. Poo on that! Glad to hear you’re on the mend and meeting up with the West Coast glitterati at your LYS. If you’re going to see (or miss) someone, Molly Ringwald would be cool. And is THAT your hand-dyed yarn? GORGEOUS. Gotta see it all knit up. I’ll buy a skein of that from you any day. 🙂

    Get all better now so you’ve got lots of energy for your visit. I can’t wait to see you (all of you!) at the Fiber Fest! xoxox.

    Like

  3. Darling Cuz Says:

    Molly was actually thinking Esme (remember her?) You were (and are) the coolest grrrl in the world. Sorry to hear the drugs aren’t doing the trick. This is where the g & t’s come in (too drunk to care…) Am mightily impressed with all of your FO’s — curtains included! — and if you have a trick for button bands short of paying someone else to do them, please post here. As for the Destroyed Cowl — we will start it together and you’ll have it before you go back to Cali. Love you!

    Like


Leave a Reply

