twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

I beg your pardon… June 5, 2010

Of course it had to be this finger.

…I do not mean to be saying what it looks like I’m saying. Β It’s just a sprain, and evidence that lately I cannot multi-task with any degree of success. How it happened is not important. It’s just another day in my life, lately. And frankly, it’s not pretty.

In fact, this will not be a pretty blog, full of pretty blog pictures like so many I read.

This post is sort of a testament that I still have much much to do in here.

How embarrassing is this?

And outside.

There is flotsam and jetsam tucked here and there.

It’s in corners, but mostly it’s stacked on flat surfaces.

I learned once from watching one of those home organization shows that I am a “stacker.” No, not a slacker, a stacker. So true. I organize by making little piles of stuff, and then spreading them out across a flat surface. My kind of disorganization is supposedly remedied by “horizontal filing.” So what I bought to tidy myself up was one of those stacks of trays that allow you to have multiple stacks of stuff in one desktop footprint. I did this in my studio space and I must admit it worked pretty well. However, now those trays are inaccessible and frankly, would need to go to the ceiling to do any good.

There is nothing I can say about this...

THE POD

And the POD. Oh Evil POD that hides your stuff away and lulls you into thinking that all you see inside your house is all you have. Especially evil because in this land of no basements (and in Eichlers, no attics, either), what you see is indeed, what you have to contend with. Oh POD, I despise you.

And as you all can see, here is evidence that there absolutely is even more crapola stuff to cram into whatever space I can find put away in our little house (even though there are are a fair number of empty, unbroken-down-yet boxes in there).

The only answer is the garage. And today is the annual “Get it the heck outta my life” day. Yes, of course I try to regularly dump stuff from the garage, but I’m at the point where I need CR’s muscles. And besides, some of this stuff is his and I don’t want to make any decisions on his stuff. But the bulk of it is “ours” and indeed, quite a lot of it is the Bug’s. As she is getting older and (finally) parting with her stuffed animal collection and toys, the garage is the first stage of releasing it. Instead of just clearing everything in her room and giving what we clear directly to Goodwill, it goes into plastic bags and gets put on the shelf in the garage for 3 months. If she hasn’t asked for it by that time, then it goes so that some other kid will be able to love it.

Anyway, I’m off to tackle this stuff. Wish me luck. Hopefully I won’t sprain the other hand in the process.

 

7 Responses to “I beg your pardon…”

  1. DebbieQ Says:

    Oh I am so sorry!! And I think this means that you can’t knit for a while which, in my mind, is an absolute catastrophe.

    Like

    • kathy Says:

      Honey,
      You ain’t kiddin’ ! πŸ™‚ It does, however, relieve me from having to knit the “Size 13 socks that never end.”
      Hope your weekend is oh so much better!

      Like

  2. Meg Says:

    Girl, when do you ever get a break! Take care of your poor finger … oh the lost knitting and jewelry making time!

    However, after seeing your GORgeous renovation pics, the photos of your chaotic work spaces make me feel, well, downright normal. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • kathy Says:

      Oh dearest friend,
      The answer to your first question is: whenever I can, or, when I can’t take it anymore! πŸ™‚
      And yes, that workspace looks like a cyclone went through it, and what can I say, I’m the witch of the west, after all…;)

      Like

  3. Cyndy Linebarger Says:

    Kathy~

    Oh, I feel for you! I broke my LH ring finger in High School playing volleyball, and it does make you feel like an outcast with the big cast on your finger, but it does heal pretty fast….As far as all your piles are concerned, they just tell me you are N-O-R-M-A-L and adjusting to your remodel just fine!! I like it when your posts get this REAL! I’m just sad knowing you will probably not have a jewelery show in the near future…bummer!

    Cyndy

    Like

  4. kathy Says:

    Thanks, honey! Thanks for the good thoughts!! I can’t imagine a broken ring finger during HS. U R brave!
    I guess normql is good, but I want it clean in here already, y’know?
    You’re right, probably no jewelry show until early fall. I really want to make some new goodies, but I guess I can’t yet. Ah well!

    Like

  5. Darling Cuz Says:

    Darling Cuz what the heck happened? I would use this nifty little splint to flip off people that irritate you WITHOUT THEM KNOWING! Think of the possibilities — in the car, at the store, in line for coffee… Love your system for “disappearing” the Bug’s stuff. But you gotta be careful — kids have minds like steel traps.

    Like


Leave a Reply

