twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

It’s getting better all the time… June 1, 2010

Filed under: life — kathy @ 12:58 pm
Tags: , , ,

Everything stacked in the kitchen last week has now found its way home

When will it end? I’ve been asking myself that for weeks, now.

Slowly, surely, it seems to be getting better. Forget the “light at the end of the tunnel.” Instead, I long “for emptiness all the way to the back of the POD.”  No kidding.

First, addressing the “Painted furniture incident, (as the Bug refers to it)” I took a deep breath–frankly a double gin and tonic was what I really wanted, but there was new carpeting to be considered now–and  a paint scraper, and set to work taking off all the nasty paint off the furniture. Sheesh. What a task.Kind of like peeling chipping old nail polish off.

I confess I started gingerly with a bit of sandpaper, but when I saw how it was coming up in strips, I started with the scraper, keeping the blade cover on, and then progressed, almost defiantly, to an unsheathed razor blade. It came up in long wide ribbons like pappardelle. Satisfying.

YUM!

Even so, it took 2 full days of scraping, and another full day of painting to finish the furniture.

Finished scraping; ready for new paint

The next part involved 3 days of painting to finish the walls of the Bug’s room, as well as the ceiling. But it’s finally over–at least for now, because I still need to sew curtains and a bedspread, but that will have to wait until we finish unpacking the POD. Joy.

I am so looking forward finishing this project and getting our life back to its plain old craziness. I miss being able to decide I’d like to sit and write for the day, or make some new jewelry, or heck, just start/finish another knitting project.

It's getting there...

Oh well, I’ll just keep on truckin’, like we used to say. I’m getting there. Really. Luckily CR dragged in dozens of boxes and reusable grocery bags (that’s momma’s tip: use those great Trader Joe’s reusable grocery bags, or doubled up brown bags, to pack books in. much easier on your back to move them than boxes, and you can easily see what’s inside) to refile the office and the Bug’s bookcases. We love books around here, so this took many hours yesterday.

In fact yesterday was more like Labor Day, than Memorial Day.

By the way, I’d just like to publicly give my thanks to all those who put bravely themselves in harm’s to make the world a safer place for me and my loved ones. That’s real hard work, and I am most grateful.

Anyway, if I could just find time to finish those secret birthday socks. Just 4 days to go and 1/2 inch to the heel turn. I love making gifties, but I really feel like being selfish with my knitting projects for a while…

Size 13...will they never end?


 

3 Responses to “It’s getting better all the time…”

  1. DebbieQ Says:

    Yes, stripping furniture is a messy if satisfying thing to do, especially if the paint comes off even half way easily. Things are looking good.

    Like

  2. Meg Says:

    Whew, I’m exhausted just reading about your home decorating trials and tribulations! But WOW does that bed look superfab all dressed up in white. Can’t wait to see pics of the rest of the room. And your kitchen is blowing my mind — that’s where you get to sip your coffee everymorning? and look right out onto your lovely patio? It’s all just lovely. I hope you get a day off soon, though. Yer gonna wear yersef out, girlie. Hang in there.

    Like

  3. Darling Cuz Says:

    Your kitchen looks amazing. Girlfriends room too. Aren’t you proud of yourselves? All of the misery will have been worth it!

    Like


Leave a Reply

