twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Okay, I have a confession… April 12, 2010

Filed under: life — kathy @ 6:31 pm

…I love watching Hoarders. Truly a guilty pleasure. Give me some knitting, a drink (hot, cold–doesn’t matter), and I am not gonna move this bottom of mine for the duration. I guess part of the enjoyment is the reassurance that my mess isn’t anywhere near as bad. Problem is lately, five minutes into the show, I start feeling my own mess is starting to look that bad: the way the rooms we’ve been living in the past couple of months are looking (frankly a bit like what I’m seeing on TV–except I must say in my defense I have been throwing actual trash away). Watching, I start getting a little agitated. Plus this leads to thoughts of my yarn stash, all its hiding places, and the realization I need to pack it and all the bedroom junk so we can get new carpeting put down. So lately I guess I get a little more than agitated. Even so, I can’t tear myself away from Hoarders.

But then there was that show last week where I found myself pushed to my breaking point. I almost had to change the channel. Did you happen to see it? Here was this nice, if messy, woman living in New York City amidst piles of stuff. She took the producer and cameraman on a tour through her apartment. Basic hoarder stuff. Then she pulled out a knitting project that’d gone awry. Looked like a lovely lavender afghan with cables and seed stitch. And she said something to the effect “Only a yarn shop should have as much yarn as I do.” Gulp.

Then in the next segment, she welcomed a psychologist into her apartment. They entered the room where her knitting had been abandoned, and immediately the doctor asked her about her hobby, targeting in particular, a small shoebox filled with circular needles.

Sly doctor, she said: “How would you feel if I took these home with me?”

I was leaning forward in my seat, now.

On TV, the woman looked a bit surprised, seemed to choke a bit and said, “Well, that’d be hard…”

“So, why don’t you just pick a few out, and I’ll take the rest with me.”

At this point I was yelling at the TV: “No, no! You need a whole bunch of different sizes! What if you want to start a Clapotis before you finish your throw?”

The woman on TV shrugged, gingerly picked through the box, selected 3 or 4 packages to keep, and handed the rest to the smiling young psychologist while I shouted, “That doctor obviously doesn’t knit! She doesn’t understand that a little shoebox of needles isn’t a hoard!”

Later, I wondered if perhaps the young doctor was smiling because she actually could knit and was making a score of free circular needles…

Just think about it.

So I have another confession: I’ve hardly knitted in the last 2 weeks. Sigh. That means that Papa’s Birthday Socks are stalled at the heel turn, and I haven’t had a chance to start/finish one of the cardigans I have listed in my Ravelry queue or in my knitting basket.

Reason why? Well, new carpeting and the Bug’s room redo aside, the remodel is finished! Hoorah! I’ve been furiously unpacking and cleaning, and the house is in much better, livable shape, however, this is a a bit like the eye of a hurricane. As I mentioned before, I will have to start packing all the books and loose “stuff” in every bedroom. Ah well, a necessary evil, since our carpets look a bit like they’ve been installed here since the house was built.

Anyway, I’d love to give you a peek or three, but you’ll have to wait until Wednesday after my One-to-One appointment at the Apple Store. πŸ™‚

There’s no furniture, yet, anyway. Working on that.

Okay, so my fiber hoarding leads me to a final confession: on Saturday, took the Bug to the 58th Conference of California Handweavers at the Santa Clara Convention Center (yes, also home to Stitches West). We both learned to spin with a drop spindle (the Bug is hooked–I will see if she can figure out how to spin straw into gold, and let you all know how to do it if she does), and I finally bought myself a small folding loom to help me gobble up my SABLE-size Β (Stash Accumulation Beyond Life Expectancy) stash. It’s a Glimraka Emilia–not a kind I’d heard of before, but liked a great deal after it was demonstrated to me. http://www.glimakrausa.com/products-looms.html

I always thought I’d get an Ashford, or Kromski; both are really lovely, but a bit pricey. Besides being a little more reasonably priced, the Emilia has a few different features I really liked. I hope, when I actually have the chance to use it, I’ll feel the same way.

Wow. Feels so much better getting all that off my chest. Β πŸ˜‰

Better go unpack another box so I don’t feel guilty pulling out my knitting later.

 

5 Responses to “Okay, I have a confession…”

  1. DebbieQ Says:

    Now you know, stash does not count in the hoarding world. But I am thinking that SABLE is kissing cousin to what I have been dealing with, BIMNIDS (But I Might Need It Some Day Syndrome). And you can have my two extra sets of Knit Picks Harmony circulars (sizes 0, 1 and 2) when you can pry them from my cold dead fingers. I need them for the multiple socks that I have OTN.

    Like

  2. Darling Cuz Says:

    The question is — is it still called a stash when it’s just piles and piles of roving? You go girl — I knew you’d get the spinning bug sooner or later! Just keep it to yourself! As someone without a SABLE, I may be putting orders in soon. Can an even better, even more sought-after, Northern Cali version of the Sanguine Gryphon be far behind? Let’s see, what will you call your marvelous yarn store?

    Like

  3. Darling Cuz Says:

    PS You are not a hoarder and that psychologist was an idiot.

    Like


Leave a Reply

