twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Come see my new kitchen… February 2, 2010

Filed under: knitting,life — kathy @ 11:36 am

Just kidding. Well, not really—this is my new kitchen, for a while anyway. It’s actually pretty workable, which makes me wonder about all the $$ we’re spending on the new kitchen.

It’s in the guest room. Here I have my microwave, crockpot, toaster, and coffeepot (I wasn’t going anywhere without that). Oh yes, and an electric frying pan (thanks, Erica, for that idea). Dontcha love that Halloween vinyl tablecloth? I have some cookbooks and some spices on one shelf, and my new pantry hidden just below. Reminds me a little of my old Drake dorm room way back when.

It’s working pretty well. Okay, so I have a hell of a big work triangle now since the fridge is in the kitchen and the sink is in the MBR–I don’t have a laundry tub. Didn’t the women who bought these houses from Joe Eichler tell him women need laundry tubs? And basements? I mean, where else does one stash stuff you must hang on to (ie: Christmas decorations, bulk packages of TP, paper towels, stewed tomatoes) so you can stash yarn in the house? In my house, you have to go to the garage for more TP, because last year after Stitches West, nearly a dozen skeins of DIC Smooshy, Blue Moon STR, and various other sock yarns moved into their previous hiding place. I just have to be a bit more prepared to make sure there’s TP in the house. Whatever.

Yesterday, I learned how to microwave pasta (I guess I already knew how to do that thanks to Kraft Microwave Mac and Cheese, but that didn’t occur to me at the time.), and so I made an old family favorite that I’ve named after my sis who gave the recipe years ago (I’ll jot down the recipe below). It worked out great in the electric frying pan, even though it didn’t have the crispy brown top jack cheese gets in the oven. It was just nice to be able to hang in our jammies and eat something cozy and warm and satisfying. Doing the dishes is a pain in our tiny bathroom, but I figured out a system for washing up that works great.

Don’t get me wrong, I love going out to dinner. I love being served and not having dishes and pans to clean. But if we do too many of those, I won’t get my chairs for my new sitting area in our kitchen. Going out to dinner is super expensive out here. Even the cheaper places cost a lot. If I wrap my brain around it, 12 trips out to dinner cost me a Quinn chair from Room and Board.

I’d rather have the chair.

Well after dinner, I cozied up on our bed with CR and the Bug to watch “Lawrence of Arabia,” and worked some more on my Broadripple Sock number 2.

About 2.5 inches to go...

I’ve learned that I probably should’ve used a yarn with elastic in it as written, since the garter ripple cuff and the wavy pattern pulls in nice and tight. And I have one larger ankle, thanks to the blood clot I had years ago, so it’s really a snug fit. I hope it’ll loosen a little, since the foot is too long for the Bug, and frankly, I really want this pair. At any rate, I’m hoping to find the time to finish it today, problem is, then I have to decide if I want to work on one of my UFOs (which is what I should do), or if I want to work on the “Victorian Neck Cozy” by Wendy D Johnson in this amazing Malabrigo Silky Wool, color: Indecita.

I’ll let you know which it is…maybe both. LOL

Oh, here’s Karen’s Recipe. And if any of you have some ideas of what I can make for dinner in our makeshift kitchen (besides Lean Cuisine), I’d love the recipes!

Karen’s Krazy Casserole

1 lb. Ground Turkey

1 TBSP olive oil

2 cloves garlic or 1 tsp garlic powder

1 medium onion, chopped

Salt and pepper to taste

1/2 tsp cumin

1 cup prepared salsa

1 small can chopped green chilies

1 cup frozen corn

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

8 oz. nonfat yogurt

8 oz. lowfat cottage cheese

1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

8 oz whole wheat (or white) pasta, cooked

8 oz (or more if you love it) shredded jack cheese

Preheat oven to 350. Saute onion in olive oil until softened; add garlic, and turkey and saute until turkey is cooked through. Add the cumin, salsa, chopped chilies (including the liquid they are in), chopped cilantro and corn. Cook a few minutes over medium heat.

In a bowl, mix the yogurt, cottage cheese, chopped cilantro, and cumin.

In a lightly greased 9 x12 baking dish, layer the casserole as follows: cooked pasta, meat mixture, yogurt mixture, then top with jack cheese. Bake 30 to 40 minutes until cheese is brown and bubbly. Enjoy!

Edited to add: For more of a kick, add a dash of ground chipotle seasoning! Penzey’s version is verry good. 🙂

 

5 Responses to “Come see my new kitchen…”

  1. Darling Cuz Says:

    You are so good! You can make even the worst circumstances fun! Love seeing pics of your spaces — it’s almost like visiting. Just make sure the guest room is cleared out in time for my next visit :)!

    Karen is becoming quite the crockpot genie — ask her for some more recipes; a quick one is to take chicken breasts, throw in a tub or so of Trader Joe’s corn and black bean salsa, maybe a little water or chicken broth, and let it cook until it’s done. (This is from Tastefully Simple, but I sub TJ’s cause I’m not spending $7 on a jar of salsa!!)

    Love the Broad RIpples and am so jealous of your Malabrigo. Note on the tops of your sox (hey is that a good blog name?) — you’ll be surprised how much they stretch! Tat’s why I too should have used elastic. However, I LOVE the 3 Irish Girls yarn you gave me so much, I’m itching to buy some more!! still have enough for one sock 😦

    Love ya!

    Like

    • kathy Says:

      OMIGOD! Are you finished with your socks ALREADY?!!! I am so jealous.
      P.S. I promise not to cook any fish in there! made bacon and eggs Sunday, but still smells like a diner. Oh dear. And you’re coming out? Promises, promises…LOL

      Like

  2. Meg Says:

    1) LOVE that Halloween tablecloth!
    2) I’m not at all surprised you’re figuring out how to rearrange rooms, use the guest room as the kitchen and master bedroom for storage, cabinets for yarn and garage for TP. Women are naturally resourceful like that. 🙂
    3) I vote for the Victorian Neck Cozy.
    4) I can’t wait to try that krazy kasserole.
    xoxoxo!

    Like

  3. Meg Says:

    Karen’s Krazy Casserole is DELISH! We made it over the weekend and everyone loved it. It’s a keeper. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    • kathy Says:

      Hi honey! I’m so glad you liked it! It’s perfect for the weekend when you just feel like making something easy to have with a salad and a beer, or a glass of wine.

      Like


Leave a comment