twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

One of my favorite ways to spend a Saturday… October 7, 2009

Filed under: life — kathy @ 12:56 pm

…is to spend it with the Bug, watching movies and knitting. She’s Great Company!

The body's finished!

The body's finished!

So last weekend, CR went off to Yosemite with a pal to do a hike up in the sky past May Lake,  and the Bug and I got up early and headed off to the local breakfast place for amazing Swedish Pancakes, gabbing, and giggling.

After filling our tummies (I had a wonderful Bacon Omlette/Souffle that was so huge, I only ate half and had the rest for lunch), we made a quick stop at the Home Depot across the street for some product investigation, and then headed home.

Settling on the couch, I picked up her sweater, and by the time we’d gone through 2 movies and were midway through “Howard’s End (Oh how I always wished to look like Helena Bonham Carter…),” ( it was now mid-afternoon–can you believe how lazy I was?!) I was finally binding off the bottom of her February Girlie Sweater. –just about the point where you think that the sweater will never end. Where you knit and knit, but it never seems to grow any longer.  Anyway…

Over the past few days, I’ve started a sleeve, and by my estimation, I’m nearly halfway done with the first one.girlesweater3 Yippee!

I also snuck in some work on CR’s Smokin’ Christmas Sweater, and even a few more rows on my Self-composed Mitts.mitts1

Been busy on the home-remodel front interviewing prospective subs and getting bids. I must admit, it seemed a bit daunting at first, but it’s been an extremely good learning experience and things are starting to come together.

Well, need to wrap this little post up and start wrapping up some new jewels…hope to post some pictures of them soon!

 

2 Responses to “One of my favorite ways to spend a Saturday…”

  1. Cyndy Linebarger Says:

    Hi Kathy~

    I love how you call Isabel the “Bug” and how you multi-task and have fun together! I love to do fun things with Melanie, too, and have our “girl time”!!! Your sweater is coming along beautifully, and I wish I had more time to knit… but I need to get started on classes for my teaching credential soon and it is hard to keep up with all the kids’ activities, too.

    Good luck with your remodel bids, and I hope you find someone you enjoy having “underfoot” a lot of the time and respects your family’s privacy!

    Cheers,
    Cyndy

    Like

  2. Meg Says:

    There is (almost) nothing more wonderful than an entire Saturday to spend knitting, sewing, (insert craft of choice here) with a stack of movies to keep you company — especially if you have your girlie-cue by your side! One of my favorite movies for just such a day is “Elizabeth” with Cate Blanchett (inspiring if I’m stitching up some Ren faire garb), Chocolat, Enchanted April, and Out of Africa. What a lovely indulgence. The sweater is darling and I can’t wait ’til you post pics of Iz in it!

    Like


Leave a Reply

