twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

It’s official–I’m insane. October 1, 2009

Filed under: laughter,life — kathy @ 4:22 pm

I must apologize for not updating the blog for a few days. I’ve turned down the path of homeowner hell: the most-of-the-house remodel.  We have a pretty decent budget, but only if I’m the contractor. I think I’m pretty organized, but I gotta say, this will definitely tax the gray matter. Even more than knitting a pattern from Rebecca Magazine–you know, the pattern mag from German ggh yarn co.?

I’m not complaining. We really need this remodel and I’m excited about it. 

The thing is (for those of you who don’t know about Eichlers), it’s a complicated process. Everything is sort of, well, connected. I guess you could say it’s a bit like a house of cards. There’s no attic, and no crawl space, so any electrical or plumbing updates need to go over/through the roof (which is also the ceiling, so if we want any pendant lights or fans, they have to go in now.) and then be sealed by the addition of a new roof. The new limestone tile floor in the kitchen must continue around the wall into the living room and then down the hall to the bathroom. Bang. 880 sq ft. And one really shouldn’t put in a new floor before one fixes up the kitchen (which desperately needs it) and the bathroom (which needs it even more).  So we have to do everything in a very specific order, or it will be a huge mess.

I want my mom.

Oh yes, and then there’s that Holiday Jewelry Open House I have planned for mid November.

Well, it should be an interesting couple of months ahead to say the least.

Just please don’t take it personally, dear friends, if for any reason I don’t return calls or email right away. I love you all. I’ll probably just be buried under some sort of construction rubble. LOL 🙂

 

4 Responses to “It’s official–I’m insane.”

  1. Cyndy Linebarger Says:

    Kathy~

    Ever the ambitious one, you have more going on than the Ringling Brothers did in their three rings! I will be cheering from the sidelines as you go about your remodel, and learning from your experiences! I will pray for your sanity, and that all goes as planned! Selfishly, I want you to have your Jewelry Show in November as usual, but I understand completely if you need to reschedule! I know your house will be gorgeous when you are done! Funny, I bet your look great even when you wear a construction helmet!

    Take Care,
    Cyndy

    Like

    • kathy Says:

      Hi Cyndy!
      Thanks for the kind thoughts! I can sure use ’em!! Believe it or not, I’m planning to have my Holiday Open House on November 14th; the demo is scheduled to start just after.
      Please keep the date open and I’ll let you know if it changes.
      Have a great weekend!
      Kathy

      Like

  2. Meg Says:

    Yer makin’ my head spin again! Hang in there, awesome contractor lady. If anyone can juggle all this stuff AND stay sane (we’re praying), you can! Please post demo(lition) pics soon.

    Like

  3. Alcyone Says:

    ugh! that just sounds like no fun. i think that it means you should just take a nice long vacation and come back to finished house!

    Like


Leave a Reply

