twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Only 91 Days Until Christmas, or A Ripping Tale. September 24, 2009

Filed under: knitting — kathy @ 11:28 am

Can it be true?

I’ve already fooled myself into thinking that I have plenty of time to make a couple of gifties for the guys in my life. But only 91 days?

Please don’t remind me that now is my most busy/important time of year for jewelry making and that I desperately must take pictures of new jewelry goodies to post on my website and on Etsy.  Blah blah blah. My same old story.

So this weekend, while CR went off backpacking, I started his present: “Smokin'” by Jared Flood, who is, may I say, the King Dude of Cool Patterns for Guy Stuff. Check out his blog in my sidebar. Amazing photos of his work. This pattern is from the book “Son of Stitch & Bitch.” http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/smokin 

The second time around

The second time around

Anyway… I’ve had the yarn well over a year. I wound it and swatched it as soon as it hit the front porch. Came up with size 9 needles but never managed to find time to cast on.

Fast forward to last Sunday morning when I dragged out the tub of yarn, my old swatch with notes, and smugly cast on before leaving to take the Bug to see the movie “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs” (cute movie with a funny twist on the “be careful what you wish for” message) (seems like there was a fire sale on quotation marks this post–sorry.)

Well I learned 2 things that day:

1) I can knit in the dark! Hooray. Okay, it was only garter stitch. But I did it! I actually knit 7 looong rows of the bottom edge of the cardigan.

2) If more than 1 year has passed since you last swatched for a project, swatch again. Things change, sometimes.

Indeed I must be rather more tense (no surprise there) than I was a year ago, because instead of my stitches gauging 3.25/inch, they were a full 4 stitches to the inch. Ah well. Making this a ripping tale indeed.

I also worked this week a bit on the Bug’s sweater. Need another 7 repeats of the pattern before I can start the bottom edge and move on to the sleeves. At least it’s still hot as Hades here.

Gettin' there...

Gettin' there...

I just hope I can get back to those Composed Mitts. They’re fun as heck, and go fast.

And maybe one of these days I’ll finish up my “Something Rum Raisin.” I’m nearly to the sleeves.

And then there’s Poppa’s gift that I have to start. The thing about that is, that since it’s entrelac, once I start it, I won’t want to stop, ’cause I think it’s truly one of my most favorite things to do.  Ah well.

Ho ho ho.

 

4 Responses to “Only 91 Days Until Christmas, or A Ripping Tale.”

  1. Cyndy Says:

    Kathy,

    Bug’s sweater is so adorable! I know Melanie would love one like that, I just don’t have time any more! I loved your what you said about needing to re-swatch after a year…that totally makes sense, especially if your stress level is different ! 🙂

    Every time i wear one of your earrings to school, the Moms and girls just love them and ask all about them! I should put up one of your flyers at the school; their Moms would probably love to come to your next show!

    Happy Thursday!
    Cyndy

    Like

    • kathy Says:

      Hi Cyndy!
      I’m happy you get compliments when you wear TR earrings–but it must be because you make them look so good! 🙂

      I’d love it you put up a flyer the next time I have an open house. I’ll send one to you when I get the details ironed out; I might have to have it at a hotel this year if my house is torn apart!

      Like

  2. Meg Says:

    Swatch? what’s a swatch? I’ve never heard of a “swatch.” Isn’t that a kind of watch that was popular in the ’80s?

    Yer makin’ me dizzy with all these projects you have on the needles! You sound like you could use a pumpkin swirl chocolate brownie. 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

