twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Happy Friday! July 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — kathy @ 9:21 pm

I love Friday.

I love the idea of Friday, the potential for fun that could be in the weekend ahead.

And this weekend, I’m having a bit of fun that I don’t normally ever have. I’m going out for a much-needed cocktail with a girlfriend of mine. I never ever do that.  Ever. Coffee, yes. Cocktails, never. The last time was 2.5 years ago. I am not kidding.

I’m gonna put on my favorite jeans, a top that makes me feel grown up and voluptuous (which, I suppose to those who know me up close and personal, not a big deal, since every top makes me look voluptuous anyway because I am…), and an awesome pair of high heel sandals that I just picked up at TJ Maxx. Oh yes, and Makeup. Makeup with eyeshadow and liner.

Whee.

You know, we’re just going to talk about our husbands and kids and school and hot flashes and trying to lose weight. That’s a given. But to watch us talk, you’d think we were talking about something juicy and naughty. We laugh a lot. And whisper. 

I actually flatter myself to think we’re even a bit entertaining.

The last time we got together, it was for coffee, and the guy sitting adjacent to us never once looked up from his computer, but I could tell from the way he was smiling, that he was listening. And we were funny. I suppose we were. I don’t recall if he was married or not, but I hope he was, because after listening to us, he might’ve had a change of heart.

We could be considered “mouthed and dangerous.”

Perhaps I should consider staying home to knit.

Naw.

 

 
