twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Slow and steady July 10, 2009

Filed under: jewels,knitting,laughter — kathy @ 9:53 pm

“Slowly, but surely,” that’s what I keep trying to tell myself. I’m making progress on my “list” of things to do over the next few weeks.

A bit more on my Something Rum Raisin sweater. Didn’t get as far as I’d planned on the bottom of the ribbing. I suspect that has something to do with the fact that I’d increased a humongo bunch of stitches, as well as the fact that my family needs to eat, and that they look to me to take care of that little thing for them.

Personally, I like the Yarn Harlot’s brilliant strategy ( I may have already mentioned this, but something this brilliant bears repeating) of “find your own food Friday” to keep the hungry people one lives with, busy. 

Well, no such luck here, I guess. You’d think they were blind and a bit dim (which is certainly the furthest thing from the truth–they’re both geniuses): “What is there to eat around here?” This question is usually accompanied by pantry and fridge doors banging open and closed repeatedly, and generally asked while I’m in the midst of some delicate wire-wrapping or stitch-picking-up  operation.

And what do they expect I will I tell them? “Oh yes, there’s Beef Wellington in the oven, an assortment of sushi in the fridge, a giant bag of potato chips and homemade triple chocolate brownies in the pantry.” Instead, I usually have to ask, “Sweet, savory, creamy, salty, snacky-size or meal?”  I have no idea what they want. Actually, I do.

They want a mind-reading personal chef.

But I digress.

At least the sweater looks like I’m making progress–always a good thing, for the ole’ stick-to-it function in my (lately) easily discouraged brain. I actually have about 18 to 20 more rows to go to get it to the specified length, and then decide if I want to make it any longer. Twenty more rows should take me a couple of days if I stick to it.

Well, they should, anyway.

Jewelry-making has had its ups and downs, mainly  due to little technical malfunctions. I’ll be darned, but if I draw it, it should work out. Not necessarily, at least not right now.

But as long as I focus on what’s in front of me, stick to it, and use my crock pot liberally, I should make it through the next few weeks. Hahaha.

That puddle on the floor, there…it’s just me. 🙂  Set a gin and tonic down next to me and I’ll be fine.

 

Leave a Reply

