twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

I’m knitting as fast as I can May 21, 2009

Filed under: knitting — kathy @ 11:28 am
I would think, as old as am (okay, I’m not that old), that I would’ve learned a thing or two about pacing myself. However, the fact that I just cast on not two, not three, but five new knitting projects at the same time, makes me really wonder about my thought processes.

Maybe it has something to do with this rotten perimenopausal thing… It might have something to do with the fact that it’s really tough for me to justify the acquisition of any more yarn until I make a dent in the stuff I have already.

What I truly feel it is, though, is that I just have a bunch of things I’d really like to make. And by-the-way, there are worse UFO offenders out there than I am about to come. I have seen a few “project galleries” on Rav that have twenty or more projects like, 20% under way, so call me capricious, but here I go…

Project #1 Something Rum Raisin

Project #1 Something Rum Raisin

I’ve had the Misti Pima Silk yarn for this Something Red cardi since last August. I need the sweater. I want to make it.

It’s actually going fairly quickly; I’m at the point where I can place the sleeve stitches on holders while I make the body. Surely the ribbing will slow me down a wee bit, since I purl weirdly, but on the other hand, once I get into the rhythm of ribbing, I’m okay. With any luck, I’ll have this finished in a few weeks.

 Next up, is this delightful Biscuit Blanket, which I’m making as a shower gift. I actually have to make three of these, so I suspect I’ll have totally memorized the pattern by the time I start the second one.  And the KnitPicks new Simply Cotton Yarn is really delightful to use. It’s every bit as nice to knit with as Blue Sky Alpacas Organic Cotton, a wonderful price, and so soft to the touch I’d like to make a cardi for my kiddo.

Project #2 Biscuit Blanket in KnitPicks Cotton--yum!

Project #2 Biscuit Blanket in KnitPicks Cotton--yum!

And this little Biscuit Blanket was the perfect project to use with my brand new knitting goodie:

A "stitched by jessalu" box bag

A "stitched by jessalu" box bag

 A sweet JessaLu Box Bag covered in delightful little bunnies!
Love it! It’s just the perfect size for little projects like socks and small shawls and such. Check them out at www.jessalu.etsy.com I think my ziploc “project bags” are a thing of the past. I want more!
So, this brings me to my next three projects which I actually have yet to “cast on,” however, I was planning on casting on #3 this evening. Nice and light colored, perfect for knitting in my “dismally dark in the evening” house. Can’t wait, ’cause I’ve been dying to use this silk yarn since it arrived here last fall.  And after I made Canopy Shawl last month and gave it to my darling Mother for her birthday, I realized that not only can I do lace, but I wanted to make on for all my BFFs, including my own self!
Project #3 Leafy Canopy Shawl in Handmaiden Tussah Silk

Project #3 Leafy Canopy Shawl in Handmaiden Tussah Silk

The next two projects are for my Bug. I have to make these now, ’cause if I don’t she’ll be too big to fit in them, ’cause I have just enough yarn in my stash to make ’em. That said, I’ll have to swatch for these before I get going. That will part of my Memorial Day activities.

I think I’m gonna be busy this weekend!

Project #4 The Ballet Tee for my Bug

Project #4 The Ballet Tee for my Bug

Project #5 Cap Sleeve Tee

Project #5 Cap Sleeve Tee

 

2 Responses to “I’m knitting as fast as I can”

  1. Meg Says:

    That’s a lotta projects lady! And what kind of progress did you make over the long Memorial Day weekend? I spent the better part of last evening making negative progress on the kilt hose. I can think of funner things to do than ripping and re-knitting in the round! I love the little project bag with the bunnies — so sweet!

    Like

  2. jessalu Says:

    Thanks so much for the mention! I’m so happy you love your bag and all your current projects look lovely! :o)

    Like


Leave a Reply

