twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

A room with a view April 23, 2009

Filed under: writing — kathy @ 9:39 am
English rose, "Graham Thomas"

English rose, "Graham Thomas"

Ever since I was a young girl discovering a love of writing, I’ve dreamed of having a special little study (preferable sited somewhere in Scotland or England) where I’d be inspired to craft my tales of medieval lords and ladies.

It’d be properly gothic: dark and cozy, filled with deep shades of damask and velvet, aged wood, and riverstones all around the fireplace. And books. Shelves and shelves of books all around me.  My antique writing desk would sit against a long, tall window,  french doors would stand a bit over to the side of the desk; in temperate months, I’d leave the doors open a bit so I could hear and see and smell nature in my garden as I wrote, even treating myself to a walk through whenever I was blocked.garden_graham_thomas

And oh, what a garden I’d have. It’d be filled with all my most favorite perennials: lungwort, heliotrope, lavender, clematis, phlox, hostas…and my dear English Roses. How I love them, their form, their colors, and best of all, their fragrances.  These lovely roses are created by David Austin, known as the Father of the English Rose. I think he must be a god. http://www.davidaustinroses.com/ (Here’s a fabulous place to buy English roses: http://www.heirloomroses.com/ Check out their “about” pages to see why they’re so great–I bought mine from them as little bare roots 5 years ago, and they are huge and healthy now!)

English Rose "Abraham Darby"

English Rose "Abraham Darby"

Well, fast forward from that lovely dream to my real life. In California. I live in an extremely fun, funky, mid-century modern classic house: an Eichler. Most decidedly not a tudor with dark wood. I’m not complaining, mind you. It’s a lovely place. But it doesn’t exactly help transport me to realms of magick and sword-fighting faeries.

When we first moved in, I commandeered a tiny room in the back of the house.  Well, it was dark. The only window faced an old gray cedar fence about 7 feet from that window. Not very inspiring. No view there. But privacy.  And it was (mostly) my own space.  Even so, I found it difficult to write very much in that room, and over the years, however, it has become my jewelry studio and yarn repository (at least for half the stash…).  It’s still not conducive to creating anything though, as much as it is good for storage, and once I had saved enough money to buy my little laptop, the world opened wide. Like a flower, I guess you could say. I happily wandered from room to room to find my space in this house.

English Rose "Gertrude Jeykll" (my dearest favorite)

English Rose "Gertrude Jeykll" (my dearest favorite)

Now, as I write this, I can look up, through our tall windows and across to our back yard to where my three, huge, English roses and clematis are blooming,  nodding their fragrant heads at me as the wind blows. Wild and unkempt. I suppose a bit like me.

A bit of my view...

A bit of my view...

For little Rudy

For little Rudy

And finally, I have a place where I find myself inspired.

 

2 Responses to “A room with a view”

  1. Meg Says:

    What a beautiful garden you have! (sigh) Oh how I wish I could visit you in your secret garden, smelling your sweet heirloom roses, and enjoying a good chat, sip and knit with you. Seems like a worthy substitute (almost) for the elegant gothic writing room. And so amazing to see that your garden is virtually in full bloom while we’re getting excited over our tiny little primroses, creeping phlox and scilla. Ahhhhh, spring! I promise you now that I’ll be ordering climbing roses from the heirloom roses site any day now.

    Like

    • kathy Says:

      Darlin’, you’d be most welcome here anytime at all! They truly are fabulous roses; I believe they get a bit larger here than back home because there’s never a hard freeze. Still, and especially since you have no deer (at least not usually–I did once see a few deer in the Calvary cemetary by your old apartment), they should flourish under your watchful eye! 🙂 Enjoy your spring days. To me, that means summer (and getting to see you again) is coming soon. Maybe we can plan on running into one another w/ our DHs in The Celtic Knot again!

      Like


Leave a Reply

