twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

Who knew buying a toilet could be so tough… March 30, 2009

Filed under: knitting,laughter,March, 2009 — kathy @ 4:45 pm
What started as an wee (LOL), innocent leak at the base of the commode in our master bath, turned into a long weekend of plumbing for my (thankfully) handy DH, and enlightenment for me. Did you know that many a brand spankin’ new toilet doesn’t come with a seat? No indeed. You must buy a “deluxe” kit. Who decides this stuff? Who’s gonna go to the trouble to install a new toilet, yet hang onto their old seat, which might not fit anyway? Ah well, at least it’s not like buying a new fridge or some other sort of extraordinarily expensive house thingy. Toilets, happily, are pretty cheap. 

What was tough for us was that we have a funky old Midcentury Eichler house, which we adore, however it has some unusual space limitations. If we got a toilet that was even a half inch too long, the bathroom door wouldn’t close, and…well, you can imagine.

Well, luckily my DH and I have similar taste (DD is another story entirely. She’s into anything Victorian. Which is fine if that’s what we lived in…) so choosing the toilet was easy, given our space/budget limitations. Finding a Kohler Santa Rosa toilet in stock was another. After 4 hours, 7 mega-hardware stores, lunch, and filling up the car because we were out of gas, we had success.

And since there was plenty of driving-knitting time, I finished my forest canopy shawl–Yippee!

Here she is, just off the needles...

Here she is, just off the needles...

I must admit I was a bit disappointed that I wound up with quite a bit of leftover yarn. This surprised me because many of the shawls made on Ravelry had their makers noting that they used all but a couple of yards on their shawls.

I actually could’ve made another full repeat or two of the pattern. By the time I was 5 rows into the edging, I realized this, but with no lifeline, and with no desire to unknit 975 stitches, I decided to simply add 4 more /rows/repeats of the edging to give me just a bit more length and use up a bit more yarn. I know this is supposed to be a shoulder shawl, but I was hoping it’d be a little longer. Well, here she is, all blocked and loverly…

Isn't she lovely...

Isn't she lovely...

Next up will be finishing my Lion Collar Cardigan by the fabulous Wendy Bernard (though I’m not going to do the collar…just wait and see what I’m gonna do–hope it works), and then I’ll have to figure out what the heck I’m gonna make next.

Oh trials! LOL 

The good thing about my current stash (thanks to enrichment from the recent Stitches West) is that no matter what economic difficulties come up over the next year, I will have knitting projects! Yeah hey for my stash! 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Who knew buying a toilet could be so tough…”

  1. Darling Cuz Says:

    You are a knitting machine, girl, and the shawl is absolutely beautiful. It might be nice for your DH if YOU drove once in a while 🙂 but what better excuse could you want for non-stop knitting? I can see you now swanning around in all these lovely shawls you’re making — with all that yarn wrapped around you, you’re not going to get a thing done!

    Like

    • kathy Says:

      Thanks to you, I have lots of yarny goodness lying around. Life is good when I think about my stash!
      By the way, I don’t drive when he’s in the car. I suppose that means I’m turning into my mother…yikes!

      Like

  2. Meg Says:

    Oy vey, toilets! and houses! makes you almost yearn for the days when the superintendant of the building took care of all that nonsense. Now gorgeous malabrigo shawls … a different story altogether. The shawl is BEAUTIFUL and I bet it’s snuggly in that yarn. Please … pictures of the talented knitter wrapped in the heavenly shawl!

    Like


Leave a Reply

