twist and shout

Because I just never shut up

The vineyard canopy shawl in MMMalabrigo… March 25, 2009

Filed under: knitting — kathy @ 5:32 pm

Funny thing, lace knitting. It’s obsessive in its way, for if you can really focus, you not only make something intricate and beautiful, but it flies in process. On the other hand, if you have trouble concentrating, whether due to your own mind’s wanderings, or you’re being subjected to external interruptions of the inane sort (I mean, DD, can you really not figure out how to open the yogurt smoothie, and if truly you cannot, and truly are dying of hunger, can you truly not find something else to snack on without my assistance?) you can loose your place and screw up in epic proportions that take you hours to right, or just frog the whole damn thing, stomp on it, and start over (or not).

So, a few weeks ago, I, an obsessed knitter and Raveler (my username: talismanrocks), decided that my Bugbug (one of my DD’s nicknames) was old enough for me to try lace knitting again. What I mean is, she can get her own food.

I’m making the lovely Forest Canopy Shawl by the amazing Susan Lawrence http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/forest-canopy-shawl

as part of the Malabrigo March KAL. After a few false starts, it’s going swimmingly and here’s an early shot:

the lovely shawl in colorway velvet grapes
the lovely shawl in colorway velvet grapes

 I am planning on trying to finish the body later today, then start the border. I hope I get it done. We shall see. I haven’t worked on it in 4 days and I’m afraid I’ve lost my groove.

A note to dear Ms Lawrence: all your info about how to make a shawl is fab, but it would also greatly help this neophyte if you’d also mention that this shawl is worked top down. Took me a lot of looking, some arguing with a pal, and lots of consternation in general to realize this is how the shawl is constructed. That said,  I’m probably the only person who didn’t understand this from the get-go…
 

Leave a Reply

